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Transportation Network Company (TNC) 

Notice of Driver Rights under the Washington State Minimum Wage Act  

This notice is intended to inform Washington State TNC drivers of their rights under RCW 49.46.300.  As a driver, your transportation 

network company must distribute a Notice of Driver Rights via smartphone application or online web portal, in at least the following 

languages: English, Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, Russian, and Korean.   

Minimum Compensation Rates  

Beginning January 1, 2024, as a driver, your TNC must pay you at least at the rates described in the following table for 

each trip or portion of a trip. 

2024 

Minimum 

driver rates  

For each 

dispatched trip  

Trips starting 

inside Seattle and 

ending anywhere, 

the greater of: 

Trips starting 

outside Seattle, 

and ending 

outside Seattle, 

the greater of: 

Trips starting  

outside  

Seattle, and  

ending inside  

Seattle, the greater of: 

The combination of: 

Per passenger 

platform 

minute for all 

passenger 

platform time 

for that trip 

$0.66 $0.38 $0.66  

applied to the portion of 

passenger platform time that 

occurs inside Seattle 

$0.38 

applied to the portion of 

passenger platform time that 

occurs outside Seattle 

Plus Plus Plus Plus Plus 

Per passenger 

platform mile 

for all 

passenger 

platform miles 

driven on that 

trip 

$1.55 $1.31 $1.55 

applied to the portion of 

passenger platform mileage 

that occurs inside Seattle 

$1.31 

applied to the portion of 

passenger platform mileage 

that occurs outside Seattle 

Or Or Or Or 

Minimum per 

dispatched trip 

$5.81 $3.37 

 

$5.81 

Note: The Seattle rates also apply to any other city in Washington with a population that exceeds 600,000. As of 

December 2023, Seattle is the only city in Washington with a population that exceeds the 600,000 population threshold 

set in the law used to apply higher trip rates. 

Shared Rides 

TNCs must treat shared rides as a single trip that starts when the first passenger enters the vehicle and last passenger 

exits. Additional passenger pickups/drop offs during the trip are not calculated as separate rides, but are used to 

determine which minimum rates apply to the trip. TNCs must apply the highest minimum rate applicable during any 

portion of a shared ride to the entire trip.  

The following examples describe the minimum compensation required for different shared ride scenarios.  

Example 1: You begin a shared ride outside of Seattle, make an additional pickup inside Seattle, and drop off all 

passengers outside of Seattle.  

The TNC must pay you the Seattle rates for the entire shared ride because you made a pickup within the city.  

https://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.46.300
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Example 2: You begin a shared ride outside of Seattle, make additional pickups outside of Seattle, and drop off the last 

passenger within Seattle.  

The TNC must pay you the non-Seattle rates for the minutes and miles you drove outside of Seattle and the Seattle rates 

for the minutes and miles you drove within Seattle. The minimum rates for the shared ride are the combination of the non-

Seattle rates when outside of Seattle and the Seattle rates when inside Seattle. The TNC must pay you either the 

combined rates or the Seattle per dispatched trip minimum, whichever is greater. 

Example 3: You begin a shared ride outside of Seattle and make additional pickups outside of Seattle. On the way to the 

drop off locations, you pass through Seattle but do not stop to pick up or drop off any passengers. You end the shared 

ride outside of Seattle.  

The TNC must pay you the non-Seattle rates for the shared ride. The shared ride did not include a pickup or drop off 

within the city that would trigger Seattle rates.   

Tips 

Tips paid to you are in addition to, and may not count towards, your driver's minimum compensation rate requirements.  

All tips must be paid within your established pay periods, upon payment from the passenger. Your TNC cannot deduct 

from your tips, unless required by law or expressly authorized under voluntary deduction provisions.  

Electronic Receipts and Weekly Notices  

Within 24 hours of each dispatched trip, the TNC must provide you with an electronic receipt, available in a downloadable 

comma-separated values file or searchable PDF format containing a table with rows for each unique trip or portion of the 

trip and columns for each itemized element contained in the trip receipt for each trip or portion of a trip. The electronic 

receipt must itemize the following information for each trip or portion of a trip:  

 Total amount of passenger platform time 

 Total mileage driven during passenger platform time 

 Applicable rates such as: the rate(s) per minute, rate(s) per mile, percentage of passenger fare, and any 

applicable price multipliers or variable pricing policy in effect including variable rates based on geographic location 

 Any tip compensation paid by the passenger within 24 hours of the dispatched trip  

 Gross payment  

 Net payment after deductions, fees, tolls, surcharges, lease fees, or other charges 

 Itemized deductions or fees, including any tolls, surcharges, commissions, lease fees, and other charges 

 The applicable date and time frame for each trip and each portion of a trip 

 The passenger pick-up and passenger drop-off locations for each trip and each portion of a trip as described by 

the street, city, and state in which the passenger pick-up and passenger drop-off occurred (unless the passenger 

is a minor).  

At least once a week, a TNC must provide the driver with a written notice, available in a downloadable comma-separated 

values file that includes the following information for each trip or portion of a trip occurring in the prior week:  

 Total passenger platform time 

 Total mileage driven during passenger platform time 

 Total tip compensation received from passengers within the prior week, itemized by the date of each dispatched 

trip or portion of a dispatched trip 

 Gross payment itemized by: rate(s) per minute; rate(s) per mile; and any other method used to calculate pay  

 Net payment after deductions, fees, tolls, surcharges, lease fees, or other charges 

 An itemization of deductions or fees, including all tolls, surcharges, commissions, lease fees, and other charges, 

from the total passenger platform time performed within the past 365 calendar days. 

Payment Periods  

A TNC must establish regularly scheduled payment periods to occur at least bi-weekly. A TNC must pay you any amounts 

owed for compensation, tips, and reimbursements no later than 10 calendar days after the end of the pay period. 
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Voluntary deductions  

Except as required by law, a TNC may only deduct compensation when you expressly authorize the deduction in writing 

and do so in advance, and for a lawful purpose. Voluntary deductions may reduce your per trip earnings below the 

minimum compensation requirements set forth in chapter 49.46 RCW and associated rules. 

No deductions for loss or breakage 

A TNC cannot deduct the cost of damage to or loss of transportation network company equipment, software, intellectual 

property, or other tangible or intangible property from your compensation. 

Paid Sick Time 

Beginning January 1, 2023, as a TNC driver you will begin to accrue at least one hour of earned paid sick time for every 

40 hours of passenger platform time worked. You may use accrued earned paid sick time upon recording 90 hours of 

passenger platform time on the TNC’s driver platform.  

You must be allowed to use accrued days of earned paid sick time in increments of at least four or more hours. 

For each hour of earned paid sick time used, you must be paid at the rate of your average hourly compensation.  

Paid sick time can be used for the following reasons:  

 An absence resulting from the driver's mental or physical illness, injury, or health condition; to accommodate 

the driver's need for medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury, or health 

condition; or a driver’s need for preventive medical care 

 To allow the driver to provide care for a family member with a mental or physical illness, injury, or health 

condition; care for a family member who needs medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical 

illness, injury, or health condition; or care for a family member who needs preventive medical care 

 When the driver's child's school or place of care has been closed by order of a public official for any health-

related reason 

 For absences for which an employee would be entitled to Domestic Violence Leave under RCW 49.76.030 

 During a deactivation, unless the deactivation or status is due to a verified allegation of sexual assault or 

physical assault perpetrated by the driver.  

You must receive your requested paid sick time payment no later than 14 calendar days after the request or by the next 

regularly scheduled date of compensation.  

A TNC must allow you to request and use your paid sick time in a system available in any language that represents at 

least 2% of their driver community. The system must be available to you via smartphone application and online web 

portal.  

A TNC must allow you to carry over unused paid sick time of up to 40 hours to the next calendar year. If you carry over 

unused earned paid sick time to the following year, accrual of earned paid sick time in the subsequent year must be in 

addition to the hours accrued in the previous year and carried over.  

You are entitled to use earned paid sick time if you have used the TNC platform as a driver within 90 calendar days before 

your request.   

A TNC may not take any action against you that adversely affects your use of the transportation network due to your 

exercise of any your Minimum Wage Act rights, including your Paid Sick Time rights. 

Retaliation Prohibited  

A TNC cannot retaliate against you for the exercise of any of your Minimum Wage Act rights, including:  

 Exercising your rights to minimum compensation, tips, and paid sick time 

 Filing an action or complaint with the Department of Labor & Industries  

 Utilizing the Driver Resource Center 

A TNC cannot take an adverse action against you, such as deactivating your account, restricting your account access, 

altering your rates of pay, or denying you alternate compensation rate tier opportunities because you exercised your rights 

under chapter 49.46.   

http://app.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=49.76.030
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A TNC cannot have any policy that counts the authorized use of paid sick time as an absence that may lead to or result in 

any account deactivation or other adverse action against you. 

Filing a Complaint 

As a driver, you have the right to file a complaint with the Department of Labor & Industries (L&I) if your transportation 

network company violates requirements of RCW 49.46 or associated rules regarding: 

 Compensation 

 Paid Sick Time  

 Tips  

 Retaliation  

You can file a Driver Rights Complaint with L&I: 

 Online: lni.wa.gov/tncdrivers 

 Mail: Driver Rights Complaint form 

 Visit your nearest L&I office location 

Driver Resource Center 

The statewide Driver Resource Center operates to assist drivers with deactivation appeals processes and other benefits 

offered for drivers. Drivers with deactivation questions or concerns should contact the Driver Resource Center.  

Email: support@driversunionwa.org 

Phone: (206) 812-0829 

Address: 14675 Interurban Ave. South, Suite 201, Tukwila, Washington 98168 

Washington State Department of Labor & Industries (L&I)  

The Washington State Department of Labor & Industries offers free technical assistance, brochures, posters, and other 

educational resources on your rights as a transportation network company driver.  

Website: lni.wa.gov/tncdrivers  

E-mail: tncdriversupport@lni.wa.gov  

Phone: (360) 902-5316 

Visit: L&I office locations 

 

 

 

 

https://lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/workplace-policies/transportation-network-company-drivers-rights
https://www.lni.wa.gov/agency/contact/#office-locations
https://lni.wa.gov/workers-rights/workplace-policies/transportation-network-company-drivers-rights
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